Our Labour Philosophy

What are the stages of labour?

Normal labour is divided into 3 stages:

  • The 1st stage lasts from when true labour is diagnosed until the cervix is fully (10cm) dilated
  • The 2nd stage lasts from when the cervix is determined to be fully dilated until the baby is born
  • The 3rd stage lasts from when the baby is born until the placenta (afterbirth) is delivered

What is your philosophy for caring for women in labour?

Dr. Colin Walsh and the team at SHORE FOR WOMEN practice according to the philosophy that it is your baby and your labour – our job is to facilitate your wishes as much as possible while always maintaining the highest standard of safety for both mother and baby. If you have particular wishes or concerns about your labour, we will discuss them in detail and we will support you in your choices.

  • Mater Hospital
  • North Shore Private Hospital
  • The University Of Sydney
  • Royal College Of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists